I have been experimenting with materials and combinations of materials. Thinking about how I can deal with scale and limatations to do with finance, transport and storage space. I have been making smaller works that give illusions of a larger scale or photographic images which become ambiguous in scale. I am particulary enjoying experimenting with different materials and processes, such as carving wood and stone, welding and photography.
I feel this way of making work will become important when I don't have the space to respond to site specifically. These works and experiments become a way of combining different influences and responses to space into smaller pieces and have a different effect on the viewer, rather than making the viewer feel immersed in a space or impacted by the scale of a sculpture, the works suggest proposals for bigger things or make the viewer question the  impact of scale.
Susie



Leave a Reply.