Hi Susie,

I'm glad you like the final images I went with, I just used fine pen on tracing paper to create a more defined effect that I thought would work better alongside your boldly toned piece. I have heard of his work, I really love the suspended cloud sculptures he creates, especially in forest environments, they are really beautiful! This one was just like my usual studies, an amalgamation of natural forms such as rock formations, webs and molecular tissue but I tried to make it a little more angular and rigid to tie in with yours.

Glad you like the idea of collaborating on that component of the installation, I was thinking of just keeping the side facing the pyramid open so you could see the plants inset into the base from that angle and keeping the plains solid, except for the slits at the top. Do you think it would be interesting for the plants to be coming through the sides? It could still work to cut out sporadic geometric shapes as the pyramid will be slightly warped what with the protruding middle section at a different angle to the outer pyramid. I haven't used plasma cutting before, do you have some experience with it? Would be have to get it ordered or send some perspex away? I have a fair bit of that blue/green glass effect perspex we could use?

I think you're right about your pieces I think the models you've posted up look great as they are, as minimal as possible and I think if we laser cut my patterns onto them it would detract from that effect. I think your laser cuts plates look amazing but think they work so well on the simpler format you've been experimenting with.

The mirrors I had cut for the installation you're speaking about were quite expensive but aluminium could work quite well, I gues how it works will have to depend on what space we end up with. It took a lot of time moving around the space with smaler mirrors to see how the light would bounce from each mirror effectively onto the sculptures I had on display, but if we were just using them to create reflections of the sculptures from different angles that would be easy enough. people were also quite concerned about the health and safety issues of suspending mirrors above peoples' heads but aluminium is lightweight I'm sure that wont be a problem. What were you thinking of using to inset the aluminium into? We could make angular shapes that match each of our sculptures and have each side made entirely out of aluminium? Or one side perspex to tie in with the sculptures/

I haven't heard back from GSS yet but hopefully it should be fine, I will email them just to double check. That's no problem about the perspex, I can help you with that and I don't mind de-stalling it. If they are only going to be 100x70cm I could maybe descembe them and sent the pieces back to Cambridge for you? A van sounds like a good idea for moving them to the space, would you be able to drive though becasue I don't have a drivers licence?

I think the 17th is the offical press opening for GI so we could create some posters and fliers to paste up when we meet up?

Jen
7/17/2012 11:28:15 am

Hi There!, I have gone ahead and bookmarked your page on Friendfeed so my friends can see it too. I just used your blog title as the entry in my bookmark, as I figured if it

Reply



Leave a Reply.