So...
We have decided as we are really starting to get into the nitty gritty of planning Void now that we should start a dialogue about the process of planning the works. We both feel that it would be great to give the viewer an insight into this process before they view our work as often this is overlooked or not part of the finished work.

It will be great to have the chance to openly critique our work and to form a discursive collaboration that crosses the distance between us and enables us to share a studio practice from very different geographical locations. We open response from anyone reading this and hope we can engage as much as possible with our audience.

Today Jen and I have been talking about spaces- trying to decide what type of space we would like to aim to work in eventually during GI, so I feel that this could be a good place to start......

For me the space is important, but I feel that I will respond to any space that we choose and the space will inform the type of work I make. If we choose somewhere inside and more white cube like- I would like to show some light installations or photographic work. Whereas if the space is more natural- I would love to contrast the natural setting with something geometric and more material based. Something about weight, gravity and material matter.

I feel that we are both back to our initial thoughts that a space where we can leave the work to be exposed to the elements would be interesting. Somewhere that crosses boundaries of inside/out minimalist and historical, geometric and organic. For me I am particularly interested in a public space that is  partly sheltered but has no locked door or inaccessible element. I love the idea of the unexpected and unpredictable. So that people are encouraged to explore and to come across the work in a space they might not expect to find artwork. To me that is what Glasgow International is all about- a chance to explore the city like you wouldn't normally do. To encounter art in unusual spaces or to re visit parts of the city you might not have had reason to go to for some time.

What do you think Jen? How does space inform your work? What are you looking for from a space for this festival?

Susie



Leave a Reply.