Hey Susie,

I've had a slight change of mind about the plant pyramid, the focal point will still be the plant life but I discovered it would be outwith my budget to buy enough plants to fully cover the piece. This actually works out better as it means I can develop the form into a more dynamic arrangement that I think will work better alongside your piece.

As I have made a start on the wooden base and framework of the pyramid, I am going to continue with that structure but have one side of the pyramid protruding inwards to a point, creating almost a pyramid within a pyramid, but at a skewed angle. I plan to cover the sides with as reflective as possible thin sheet metal with another layer of silica perspex over the sheet metal (the same green/blue glass effect perspex in my previous sculptures) to create a crystal-like surface which will reflect the sculptures surrounds. The 2 upper plains of inner section will also be covered in the sheet metal and perspex, with plants inset to the lower plain, and reflected in the plains above to create the effect of a plant life chamber within the pyramid.

For the section protruding away from the pyramid, originally I thought it would be interesting to cut geometric shapes out of the spine, but now I think if we collaborate on that section to fit in with your sculpture, maybe using perspex on one side, and metal on the other. Perhaps we could also insert plant life into the base of the interior and the spine could have slits cut out of it like your previous metal sculpture, letting light through the gaps towards the plant life?

Underneath both sections I have drafted in a steel frame protruding downwards at a narrower angle to give some geometric balance to the overall form and some contrast in structure and materials.

The pyramid is going to be 94cm across the base and 90cm high, I was thinking the slanting section could be roughly the same length, (with one side jutting out slightly further than the other at the front), slightly narrower in breadth and about 70cm high?



These are the images I have done for the Mutual Charter publication. One is a reaction to your drawings, but with the pyramid piece in mind, the other is my more intricate illustrative style but I tried to keep it more bold and angular in keeping with your drawings and the sculptures we are currently working on. See what you think, I will experiment with layering and post up a few outcomes.




Leave a Reply.